RPC
Language:  English | Français
Analytical Services
   
     
Genotyping    

Genotyping or DNA fingerprinting has quickly become an important tool to assist in the identification and tracking of living things, from bacteria, to plants to humans. Not just a tool for use in CSI, genotyping has many uses in agriculture, aquaculture and wildlife management from identification of individual animals and assignment of parentage, to determining the origin population of individuals or as a genetic tag for animal and material traceability. Among the most current applications of genotyping include the correlation of specific genes and gene variations with quantitative and economically important traits that can be used to enhance the rate of selection in breeding programs.

Genotyping Services
Our state of the art molecular biology lab employs low to high throughput DNA extraction methods to prepare your samples for microsatellite/STR genotyping or SNP genotyping using the latest and most flexible instrumentation platforms that include:

  • Microsatellite or STR-based genotyping using ABI 3130XL
  • SNP genotyping using the Agena Mass Arra

Existing Marker Panels

  • Atlantic salmon continent of origin (King 7)
  • Atlantic salmon panels for parentage assignment and traceability
  • Atlantic cod
  • Haddock
  • Moose
  • White tailed and Mule Deer
  • Human

Custom Marker Panels
If you are in need of a marker panel for your species of interest, we can help you develop a robust and efficient panel to suit your needs.  Alternatively, if you have a panel of your own design that you would like run on your samples, we can also help you with that. 

Downstream Assistance
We can help you use genotype information to develop or enhance broodstock, trace stocks within your production system, and help develop a database to store the molecular fingerprints of your genetic material for use in germline identification. 

We provide:

  • Fast, accurate genotyping
  • Sample archiving
  • Competitive pricing
  • Strict client confidentiality
  • Data interpretation
  • Certified ISO 9001:2008 Quality Management System
 

 

   
CONTACT
bar

Sherry Binette
Molecular Biology Technician
Tel: 506.452.1212
Toll Free: 1.800.563.0844
info@rpc.ca

Dr. Ben Forward
Department Head, Food, Fisheries & Aquaculture
Tel: 506.452.1212
Toll Free: 1.800.563.0844
info@rpc.ca

 
   
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES
bar

Contract Genotyping (PDF)

 
   
RELATED SERVICES
bar

Human DNA Testing

RPC
Langue:  English | Français
Analytical Services
   
     
Génotypage    

Le génotypage, ou le profilage d’ADN, est rapidement devenu un outil de premier plan pour identifier et repérer les êtres vivants, que ce soit des bactéries, des plantes ou des humains. Bien plus qu’un outil utilisé dans « CSI », le génotypage a de nombreuses utilisations en agriculture, en aquaculture et en gestion de la faune, que ce soit pour identifier des animaux individuels et trouver leurs parents, pour déterminer la population d’origine des individus, ou encore pour effectuer un marquage génétique en vue de repérer des animaux ou du matériel génétique. Parmi les applications les plus modernes du génotypage se trouvent la corrélation de gènes et de variations génétiques précis avec des traits quantitatifs et économiques importants qui peuvent servir à augmenter le taux de sélection dans les programmes de reproduction.

Services de génotypage
Notre laboratoire de biologie moléculaire à la fine pointe utilise des méthodes d’extraction de l’ADN de capacité faible ou élevée afin de préparer vos échantillons pour le génotypage STR/par séquence microsatellite ou le génotypage SNP avec les plateformes d’instruments les plus récentes et adaptables, dont les suivantes :

  • Génotypage par séquence microsatellite ou STR avec ABI 3130XL
  • Génotypage SNP avec MassARRAY® d’Agena

Groupes de marqueurs existants

  • Continent d’origine du saumon de l’Atlantique (saumon royal, sept marqueurs)
  • Groupes du saumon de l’Atlantique pour la désignation de l’ascendance et la traçabilité
  • Morue de l’Atlantique
  • Aiglefin 
  • Orignal 
  • Cerf de Virginie et cerf-mulet
  • Humain

Groupes de marqueurs sur mesure
Si vous avez besoin d’un groupe de marqueurs pour l’espèce que vous étudiez, nous pouvons vous aider à monter un groupe robuste et efficace selon vos besoins.  Par ailleurs, si vous avez votre propre groupe que vous voulez utiliser pour vos échantillons, nous pouvons également nous en servir.  

Aide en aval
Nous pouvons vous aider à utiliser des données de génotypage pour développer ou améliorer le stock de géniteurs, retrouver les stocks dans votre système d’élevage et monter une base de données où enregistrer les empreintes moléculaires de votre matériel génétique afin d’identifier la lignée germinale.  

Nous offrons ce qui suit :

  • Un génotypage rapide et précis 
  • L’archivage d’échantillons 
  • Des prix concurrentiels 
  • Une stricte confidentialité pour nos clients 
  • Une interprétation des données
  • Un système de gestion de la qualité certifié ISO 9001:2015
 

 

   
PERSONNE-RESSOURCE
bar

Sherry Binette
Technicienne en biologie moléculaire
Téléphone : 506-452-1212
Sans frais : 1-800-563-0844
info@rpc.ca

Ben Forward, Ph. D.
Directeur, Aliments, pêches et aquaculture
Téléphone : 506-452-1212
Sans frais : 1-800-563-0844
info@rpc.ca

 
   
RESSOURCES ADDITIONNELLES
bar

Génotypage sur demande (PDF)

 
   
SERVICES APPARENTÉS
bar

Analyse d’ADN humain